The City Keeps On Going. We Just Keep On Rolling.

Oh, wait. I can’t even go play football anymore? Sigh. Get me out of here. I’m cool with losing my ex-boyfriend. But not everything I love about my life. Evil exes need to grow up. No wonder I’m a hostility monster towards everyone.

The agenda today didn’t pan out like it was supposed to. 3/8 things isn’t too bad. Especially when I control my own destiny and can change my own plans if I want without feeling bad about it. Used book shopping always thwarts good productivity efforts. Afternoon naps do too.

What I picked up:
The Metamorphosis
On The Road… because I loaned my original copy to an ex-best friend and never got it back and I need it more than ever right now
–  Godel, Escher, Bach… which is MIND BLOWING based on the first chapter alone
Letters To A Young Poet

The Caliban Book Shop never lets me down! Although, to be fair, 2/4 books were purchased at the half-price bookstore in the North Hills.

Needless to say, I think Jayber Crow may need to be put on the back burner for now. It kind of takes a long time to read anyway. It’s not hard or dense. You just get caught up thinking about life and mentally drift away from the pages.

All four of those books were selected because they’re crucial to this particular life moment.

On The Road is still in my top 5. And it has one of the best first couple of sentences ever. I don’t care what those other lists say.

I first met Dean not long after my wife and I split up. I had just gotten over a serious illness that I won’t bother to talk about, except that it had something to do with the miserably weary split-up and my feeling that everything was dead.

Leave a Reply

