And It Only Feels Worse When I Stay In One Place

So, I go back and forth forever
All my thoughts they come in pairs
Oh, I will, I won’t, I do, I don’t
I’m not surprised 
But I never feel quite prepared

This blog is never chronological… Back to Austin City Limits.

I’ve been dying to go pretty much ever since it’s been around. 25% of my longing to go south has to do with the fact that I never want to miss another year as long as I live.

But when I found out that a lot of performances were LIVE on YouTube, I definitely freaked out. Thanks for telling me, guys. I was almost on the road to WNY instead of in my room watching it because I didn’t know. But, hooray! Facebook saved the day. I think that’s the only time the Facebook newsfeed contributed something positive to my life.

Essentially, Bright Eyes was incredible. I think I’ll love Conor Oberst for the rest of my life. Without him, there would be no relief for my heartbreak or disaffection.

Landlocked Blues… pretty much the only decent quality video I can find right now. 50% of the time, it’s my favorite song. And it was so good live. I wish I could have actually been there to hear it. But damn, I was happy just the same. Had Emmylou Harris been there to sing her part, I would have flipped shit and never been joyless for one single moment during any day for the rest of my life.

They played a ton of amazing stuff though… Another Travelin’ Song is probably one of my top 10 favorite Bright Eyes songs of all time so it was awesome to hear. Could have done without Four Winds though. Cassadaga is the weakest album by far.

Anyway, I was mesmerized for a good hour or however long they played. Probably less than an hour. I have no concept of time. I made Cory get on his computer and it was like being at the show together even though we’re far away from each other. I LOVE THE INTERNET. Without it, I’d know a lot less about pretty much everything and I’d have lost touch with a lot of people I care about. It’s only a huge soul-sucking time waster if you make it that way.

Anyway, back to the music. It doesn’t get much better than this:

So, I will find my fears and face them
I will cower like a dog
I will kick and scream
I will kneel and plead
I’ll fight like hell to hide that I’m giving up 

Best ending to any song ever. And I’ve totally been finding my fears and facing them ever since that album came out. Plus, it’s so real and raw when it’s live. Thanks, Conor. You changed my life.

Leave a Reply

