Indian Summer

Ok, so I think it technically has to get legitimately cold and then warm again for the weather to fall under the indian summer category. It was in the 50s a few weeks ago and that’s cold to me so I’m categorizing this day as such just because I can.

Anyway, I’m not blogging about flying today like I promised. It’s too gorgeous outside to sit in front of my computer. High of 79 and pure sunshine. Perfect day for a street festival and BBQ. My two favorite things of all time.

Drew got up outrageously early to go fishing and then called me at 7:30 because apparently it’s the 7th anniversary of the best day of our lives which we’ve never celebrated until now because neither of us really remembered the date before.  Just that it was the best day ever. During idle time at work a few weeks ago (after a Seneca Lake weekend), he figured it out then put a reminder in his phone for today. You people with calendars in your smart phones are living the life. Having a best friend who’s a morning person sucks most of the time. But sometimes it results in the best wake up calls ever. Plus, as long as it’s the weekend, you can just go back to sleep for 20 more hours.

Time flies. 17 doesn’t feel that long ago.

Semi-relevant:

Clocks slay time. Time is dead as long as it is being clicked off by little wheels; only when the clock stops does time come to life.
– William Faulkner, The Sound and the Fury

For the record, I think I hated that book. But I saved the quote because it’s a good one. I think I hated As I Lay Dying too. So William Faulkner novels were not anything I was a fan of. But for some reason I picked up Absalom! Absalom! at the library one day and loved it in every way. Then bought a copy because it was so good. It’s probably one of my top 20 favorite books of all time. And I’ve read a million books so top 20 is kind of a big deal.

Leave a Reply

