The Crying Tour Of Pittsburgh

I was wrong about the Ryan Adams album. It comes out next Tuesday. Biggest letdown ever. I could hardly sleep last night from excitement then I woke up and tried to preview it on iTunes and saw that 10/11 is the real release date. Bleck. 7 more days to wait. 7 more days to explode inside.

Now on to the essence of this post… Today, while running errands and pursuing life, I ended up driving down Penn Avenue from East Liberty to downtown and I progressively got sadder along the journey. For some reason, Penn Avenue pretty much has some kind of representation of all the things I love about Pittsburgh. And when I got to the Strip District, I was close to tears. When I passed Wholey’s, the real tears came.

Then there’s that part where you’re at the intersection of 6th St and the Fort Duquesne Boulevard and you can see straight down the Roberto Clemente Bridge and PNC Park is on your right. It’s the most beautiful thing ever.

What is wrong with me? I’m gonna passionately miss this city and that fact just occurred to me.

I never made it to the Warhol. I was too sad to pull it together. So, I went shopping for Halloween instead.

Then during my daily read of the City Paper, I freaked out even more and thought to myself, “What if other cities don’t have anything similar to this?”

What am I going to read? How am I going to know what’s going on?

Why am I leaving Pittsburgh if it’s so perfect in every way?

STOP SABOTAGING ME, EMOTIONS.

I hope this is just temporary. If nothing else, I can focus on the fact that I’m coming back someday to settle down.

But at the same time, I’m thinking that maybe the reason I was so unhappy here was because of the relationship I was in and how it limited my ability to enjoy the things I love about Pittsburgh and so I should just stay? Really, in terms of what I need from life (good music, good bars, good art, good sports, good food), Pittsburgh pretty much has it all.

I fall in love with places too easily. And it’s not like you can ever justify ending the love affair and move on because a city can’t wrong you in anyway. Cities are insentient.

And I’m obsessed with this now: Leaving Pittsburgh

I love things that are outrageously human. That site is basically the good, the bad, and the ugly. There’s a lot of life in it. Nice melange of opinions and situations.

Anyway, despite being thwarted by tears today, it was my intention to go see this exhibit.

I’m infinitely excited about it. Really, I’ve been waiting months. Tim would love it. He is the reason I’m a passive comic book and superhero enthusiast. Can you be a passive enthusiast? Seems like a contradiction. But that’s the only way I can describe my relationship with it.

Yinz should go see the exhibit. If you need more convincing, here’s an amazing City Paper interview: A conversation with superhero-comics artist Alex Ross

Leave a Reply

