Sweet Home Alabama: Part 1

Atlanta was nice. Some parts of it weirdly reminded me of Boston. Other parts were like no other city I’ve ever been in. The traffic was godawful though. That part reminded me of Long Island. It’s weird that I live close enough to Atlanta that I can just go almost whenever I want. I mean, it is technically like five hours away but that’s nothing to me. That’s how long it takes to get to Alfred from Pittsburgh.

On my way, I went to Dunkin Donuts and felt like I’d just reached an oasis after being in the desert for months. And I hit up Ikea too and got this bookcase. Ikea said two people were required to put it on the cart thing and to lift it in general, two people to assemble it, and two people to pick it up and put it against the wall after it’s built. Well, Ikea, you’re wrong because I did it all by myself. Like a boss. I am a one woman machine. It obviously wasn’t the easiest thing to accomplish and required a combination of brains and brawn, but it’s done. I definitely had to improvise because it actually is way way way too heavy for me to pick up. There was a lot resourcefulness going on last night. Willpower and simple machines and ancient Egyptian techniques. And now my living room is awesome and I was finally able to unpack the last of my stuff.

The advent of this new bookcase brought some furniture rearranging in the living room and then that led to complete furniture rearranging in my bedroom and then complete rearranging of my office area as well. This is why I live alone. I need to be able to change and live and react to all my whims. I can’t imagine being married and getting a new couch or something and then being inspired to change every room in the house and having to tell my husband, “Hey, we’re moving every possession we own to a new spot in the house today.” I don’t feel like compromising in terms of my living spaces right now. I do what I want because I am the queen of my castle.

After I get all the art hung on the walls and acquire some lamps and put the finishing touches on everything, I’ll post some pictures so you can see what it looks like even if you can’t ever visit! The bookcase was the last big thing I needed and now I feel like I’m finally settling in. I’ve transitioned out of the “I recently moved from Pittsburgh” phase and into the “Alabama is my home” phase and I’m in love with my apartment and my life here. I love this apartment so much that I kind of don’t want to leave (and probably can’t ever leave because it might take five strong men to move the bookcase out of here). But on the other land, I probably will want to upgrade to something a little bit nicer when I have an income (and I need to get to New Orleans ASAP) but there’s definitely something to be said for living cheaply. As long as you can make it homey and comfortable, you’re good to go. I just ignore all the cracks in the walls/ceilings and the old tiles in the bathroom and all the other things that come with an inexpensive apartment in an old building. If you renovated this place even a little bit though, it would be incredible. The hardwood floors are amazing and the windows are huge and the ceilings are high. It’s classic. And super spacious.

Anyway, the bathroom is the only room that’s completely 100% done and so yinz can see the pictures. Sorry about the bad quality in some of these and the fact that they’re not all the same size. I used my phone to take them.

The bathroom was honestly kind of gross when I moved in. The person who lived here before me must have been disgusting. When I looked at the apartment, I knew it was going to take some work but I’m so happy with how it turned out. This is the makeshift ventilation system I used when cleaning it. It effectively sucked the chemical air out. And spread the chemical air throughout my apartment. But at least the concentration was more tolerable and safer.

Here’s the shower curtain. I get to memorize capitals while I shampoo and such. But first I have to decipher them because they’re backwards when you’re on the inside.

This is the shower/toilet area.

Andy Warhol hangs on the wall.

This is the sink/shelf area. I don’t have a hand towel yet obviously. That’s what pants are for? Gross. I kind of feel like Foul Bachelorette Frog now.

Here’s a close-up of the shelves. I LOVE HAVING MY OWN BATHROOM. I finally have space to put all my make-up in a place that’s convenient to where I put it on. Dream come true! And I love the white shelf liner with light pink polka dots that I got. The only problem with this set up is that the little eye shadows sometimes get lost behind the bigger palettes but that’s such a minor issue that I hardly care.

Finally, here’s the elephant soap pump that I had to have.

That picture is also a good close-up of the weird pink paint that’s all over my bathroom. Whoever painted the bathroom pink did a very poor job and whoever painted over it did a very poor job as well.

Anyway, there it is in all its glory. My bathroom is everything I’ve ever wanted in a bathroom space. It’s relaxing, it reflects me as a person, and I have space for all my bathroom things.

Leave a Reply

