I Miss Yinz N’at

Thunderstorms here are kind of terrifying sometimes. And this is coming from a lifelong thunderstorm lover. 2 minutes ago, lightning came out of nowhere, then a huge window rattling clap of thunder happened like 5 seconds later, then it poured for 1.5 minutes… and that was it. So weird. I miss the land of normal thunderstorms. Because I really feel like I just imagined all of that. It would have been a VERY VIVIDLY imagined event though.

I guess there are still little adjustments to be made even though I’ve been here for 3 months at this point and feel I’ve acclimated quite well.

It’s easier to be away from home when you know you could go back whenever you want. This isn’t The Odyssey. 

I’d pay $10 for one good pierogi though.

And before I go to sleep, sometimes I think about what Pittsburgh looks like at night. It makes me feel calm and grounded.

I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time.
– Calvin and Hobbes, Bill Watterson

It’s strange though… Because on Wednesday at lunch, I found myself enjoying time with my Mobile friends just as much as I do when I’m with everyone from home that I’ve known for years. I guess that’s just proof that life always rolls on. But at the same time, it kind of stops. Because I’m pretty sure that when I go back, it’s going to be like I never left and we’ll all just pick up where we left off like no time has gone by at all. In a few cases, however, I made sure there’d be nothing to pick back up before I left. It was the right choice.

Leave a Reply

