Some Of Them Try To Rhyme, But They Can’t Rhyme Like This

Tally Hall = Raffi for grownups

Disclaimer: I’m not talking about the goalie, although I do love me some MLS.

Marvin’s Marvelous Mechanical Museum is ridiculous, melodic, fun, and catchy. If you’ve never heard it, I suggest you listen to it. There’s no way you can hate it.

Take this with a grain of salt though, I guess. Because you know that anything whimsical is automatically awesome to me. And I still occasionally play my Raffi tape on dismal days. Sharon, Lois, & Bram, too.

Tally Hall does address real life themes, however. So real, in fact, that Greener hits uncomfortably close to home. It’s not all Banana Man nonsense. I’d say most songs are 50% whimsical and 50% legitimate content. Example: Spring and a Storm

Anyway… back to my cassette tape collection. It’s not 100% preschool. I still listen to Totally Krossed Out semi-regularly and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Missing the bus is a real problem no matter how old you are. And Jump is one of the greatest songs of the 90s. And that’s really saying something because the 90s were AMAZING in terms of music. What happened to those kids? How did they not end up as international superstar millionaires with a lifetime of chart topping hits? I guess it could have had something to do with their backwards clothes. But really, I feel like they were talented enough to overcome that.

And at this point, I’m clearly procrastinating. I can’t even try to hide it. How many posts have I added today?

Leave a Reply

