Real Life Is Way More Romantic Than Flowers

Thanks, Reddit, for restoring my faith in the possibility of real/genuine/forever love.

Some of these stories are pretty awesome. The OP’s tale was a pretty good one. Many more made me smile too.

I went with my boyfriend and our friends one night right after getting over the stomach flu. Mistake.

Since I felt gross from being sick, I had on a short and tight dress. I figured it would distract everyone from how pale I looked. I had a few drinks and started to feel like I was going to die, so I asked my boyfriend if we can go outside. He closed his tab and I somehow made my way to the car. We were in the backseat and I was half laying/half sitting up having one of the drunk “just breathe… just breathe” moments.

I sat up and yelled at him to open the door (child safety locks). I threw up all over the parking lot and a bit on my dress. He told me later that he knew that he was in love with me when I “threw up and farted at the same time, right next to him, and he still wanted to kiss me.”

So embarrassing.

A lot of the stories have to do with bodily dysfunctions and illnesses. I wonder if that’s because the OP started with one so that’s just what people were prone to thinking about or because that’s actually when you’re the most vulnerable/humiliated so if your SO handles it well and helps you out and doesn’t make a big deal out of it, then you realize he/she is worth hanging on to forever.

For good measure, here’s a non-poop/vomit one…

After two years of long distance dating (West to East Coast) my lovely fiancee (now) flew across the country and a day later we moved in to our new apartment together.

4 Days later, the searing back pain I thought was a pulled muscle from incorrectly moving boxes sends me to the emergency room. Turns out I have cancer and a tumor on my spine. I am admitted directly to the oncology ward and don’t get to leave for 3 months while they blast chemo through me.

My wonderful lady unpacks and sets up our apartment, cooks me dinner every night so I don’t have to eat hospital food, sleeps on a cot next to my bed at the hospital and does every other conceivable thing she could possibly do to help me through it all.

You better believe I proposed!

Several people did comment with situations in which their SO was awesome and then that it didn’t actually work out in the end. Which I can attest to because it happened to me. So, I’m not totally getting carried away with these idealistic sentiments.

For Valentine’s Day 2011, Matt took me to the ballet then out for a pretty nice dinner. And just as we were heading to bed for the night, I started to feel outrageously ill and proceeded to be sick in every imaginable way you can be sick. If you’ve never been sitting on the toilet and projectile vomiting at the same time, I can tell you that it SUCKS. After getting me everything I could possibly need to feel better, Matt actually wrapped me up in towels because I was cold and shaking and laid on the bathroom floor with me while I proceeded to throw up off and on for the next 2-3 hours.

Even though he was a great/amazing guy that night, he still turned out to be an asshole. Assholes can have good guy moments, too. Don’t get caught up. Keep your feet on the ground, people. Because the shitty thing is that after that night, I really thought he loved me enough to want to be with me forever. Girls are freaking idiots. Lesson learned.

Side note: For some reason, I can’t eat seared or raw tuna because a similar outcome occured at the beach during summer 2010. We all ate the same thing and I was the only one who got sick. It’s only tuna, also. Every other type of seared/raw seafood is fine. Someone explain that one.

Leave a Reply

