If I Were You, I’d Come Back Home

This one makes my heart melt instead of explode:  If I Were You by Whiskey Farm

If I were you, I’d answer my letters
If I were you, I’d pick up the phone
If I were you, I’d try to make this better
If I were you, I’d come back home

If I were you, I’d head for the mountains
Far away from the city lights
Find a spot where your heart can’t hear nothin’
And let it fly into the night

This wasn’t what we planned, no
I guess you did what you had to do
And maybe I’d understand
If I were you

If I were you, I’d call up your mother
She always knew just what to say
Ask her if I deserve another
Chance to make you want to stay

This wasn’t what we planned, no
I guess you did what you had to do
And maybe I’d understand
If I were you

If I were you, I’d answer my letters
If I were you, I’d pick up the phone
If I were you, I’d try to make this better
If I were you, I’d come back home

And it kinda makes me feel like a bitch for always being the one who leaves. But none of my former love interests have ever cared whether or not I stayed. I think I’d act differently if the circumstances were different.

The shittiest thing is when you want someone to want you to stay but they don’t so you have to go. I hate being the one who always has to call it.

The Avett Brothers put it best, as usual…

How can you tell when goodbye means goodbye?
Not just for now…  for the rest of you life
How can you stand there with love in you eyes
And still be walking away?

Leave a Reply

